Week 1 in DC- Living in the City


2015-05-07 10.57.16

—-Being a tourist with all the crazy, middle-school, field-trip kids.

After a week of walking around Washington D.C. and getting constantly lost, I think I have finally got my bearings in this city. Growing up in the suburbs of Florida, the city life is certain something else. Fortunately I was able to arrive a few days before my internship to get accustomed to everything and of course enjoying all the sights of the capitol. My apartment is located near the Capitol Building, which is a really nice-old part of town. I live near the Eastern Marketplace, where “local” farmers from West Virginia and Amish communities, sell fresh produce on Tuesdays and weekends. Having these vendors are crucial to my diet because eating out in D.C. really adds up, so its good to get some fresh and cheap produce.

2015-05-07 10.35.21

PAHO/WHO Building (A.K.A- My home from 9-5)

My internship is the typical 9 to 5 schedule in a cubicle and in front of a computer. Not the most glamorous or romantic work but working for a public health organization does have its perks. The atmosphere is very laid back to reduce stress and hypertension. My office also has a great cafeteria that serves the best Latin American food for a fraction of the price. My commute isn’t too bad either once I figured out how the metro train works.

2015-05-11 15.53.48

First day of work…

I work for the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)/ World Health Organization (WHO) in the department of Noncommunicable Diseases (NCDs). The organization is responsible for assisting developing countries in improving its health care infrastructure and collect important health information. I am currently helping my department with re-organizing multiple documents into one coherent report. Later, I will be assisting in drafting another NCD report for 2015. Organizing this information is critical for creating future strategic plan, political policy, and of course taking action. The progress of these actions need to be measured and analyzed so that further plans can be funded.

Taking the Metro

Taking the Metro

With all that, it has been a really awesome but busy week. Im looking forward to what next week has to offer and will hopefully settle into everything.

Leave a Reply

