SECOND AND THIRD WEEK

Happily, my resoponsibilities in the Grey Water Project of the AIES are becoming quickly clearer. It seems like I’ll be spending a lot of time in the city of Beersheva, and the Bedouin village of Umm-Batin. In both places, I have started meeting organizations and community leaders who are interested in improving the sanitary situation in the village. I find myself, after all, working as liaison between the Bedouin community and the AIES, and as part of these efforts I am meeting a lot of new people who are willing to help.

My real first jump into the water was last week, with visit to an NGO called AJEEC, which promotes Arab/Jewish cooperation in community projects. Although I felt I was not fluent enough, the meeting turned out to be quite long, very dynamic and informative. Most of all, the AJEEC staff helped me by bridging me and key figures of Umm Batin. Hopefully, I will have the chance to meet a group of women in the village, where I can gain some more insight about domestic usage of greywater, and sanitary infrastructure.

SAM_3550

The AJEEC office in Beersheva

The following day I had my first visit to Umm Batin, this time to assess a family’s property where AIES might install a greywater treatment system. While on the village’s only asphalted road, I was busy observing and digesting info of a poor, non-developed, dirty area, and completely forgot to use my camera. Once we found our destination, we focused on the wastewater infrastructure. Luckily, the landlord is quite a handyman and after installing a dual plumbing a few months ago, this can make our job of installing a system feasible and easier. I really hope to see this happening!

SAM_3553

A new pipe discharging untreated greywater from the kitchen

SAM_3552

All set to install a system

2 comments

  1. erickalm · May 31, 2015

    What an incredible opportunity to work with the woman of the community and get their feedback about the water needs. This project sounds like you can really make an impact on this community.

    Like

  2. Sherish90 · July 1, 2015

    Glad to hear that you are starting to learn what your responsibilities are. I know it can get a bet frustrating and nerve wrecking. Don’t forget your camera next time, i would love to see some pictures of the rural areas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

