Final Week – Wrapping Up!!!


My last week at the office was normal. I just updated out website, the blog and our monthly news letters.

My final work day was at Koala Ranch, where the Hakipu’u Stream Restoration Project is taking place. The project is working to remove invasive species from Hakipu’u head-water spring areas and reforest with native plant species. Native plant species will help to reduce the amount of sediment entering Hakipu’u Stream and ultimately Kaneohe Bay. This project started in 2012, and so far Hui o ko’olauopoko 700 feet of riparian habitat on 1.8 acres of land surrounding the head-water spring area of upper Hakipuʻu Stream.

Hiking to the stream site.

Hiking to the stream site.

2015-05-23 09.19.42

Part of the work site

Part of the work site

Part of the stream after weeding out a lot of plants.

Part of the stream after weeding out a lot of plants.

Go Bulls!!!

Go Bulls!!!

Koala Ranch

Koala Ranch

2015-05-23 11.22.17

Planting native plants

Planting native plants

You can barely see the stream amidst all the plants

You can barely see the stream amidst all the plants

Volunteers helping out. In the background are also little minions helping out.

Volunteers helping out.
In the background are little minions helping out.

Done with one section of the site.

Done with one section of the site.

On our way out of the ranch, btw behind me is the set of the the new jurassic world movie

On our way out of the ranch, btw behind me is the set of the the new jurassic world movie

back at the Ranch. Me, my fellow intern (Chad) and my boss (Kristen)

back at the Ranch.
Me, my fellow intern (Chad) and my boss (Kristen)

Koala Ranch

Koala Ranch

Memorial Day Weekend

I also made it to The Big Island and Maui

My quest to find the Green Sand Beach

My quest to find the Green Sand Beach

Found it!!!

Found it!!!

Black Sand Beach

Black Sand Beach

South Point Cliff Dive, the southernmost point in the U.S (The Big Island)

South Point Cliff Dive, the southernmost point in the U.S (The Big Island)

Wind Farm

Wind Farm

2015-05-24 13.22.26

Green Sand Beach

Turtles nesting

Turtles nesting

Had to go volcano swimming on the Big Island

Had to go check out the volcano on the Big Island

When i decided not to go volcano swimming...

You would think it would be hot around the volcano, the temperature was in its 40’s…

On may way to Hana

On may way to Hana

Red Sand Beach...

Red Sand Beach…

Red Sand Beach

Red Sand Beach

Treacherous road to Hana, sooo narrow with took many corners. Had to pull over twice because i was dizzy.

Treacherous road to Hana was sooo narrow with too many turns. I had to pull over twice because i was dizzy. #nojoke

As my time came to an end i gathered all the materials i was going to need for my final paper. I had to hop from Hawai’i Pacific University library, to University of Hawai’i library, and the Kailu’a and Kaneohe public libraries to find the required books/reports for my final paper. Came back home packed up my things then i head out to the airport. I was ready to come back to Tampa and get it over with.

2015-05-29 12.33.392015-05-29 12.36.33

As i looked out the window and we flew over Honolulu, it finally hit me. My time in Hawaii was truly memorable one.

One comment

  1. Kari Becerra · July 9, 2015

    Absolutely gorgeous places. Nice shots and narrative.

    Like

Leave a Reply

