Behind This Door Lies Magical Wonders


IMG_20160517_110422423

Today is almost like Xmas because you get two blog posts from me.  I must be honest and say the last few days have been hot and hectic so now is the first time I have to sit down and blog.  This post is for Yesterday, which was Tuesday.

Let me set the mood for you… Yesterday it was about 93 degrees out and the humidity was about 900000%.  That number is very accurate so don’t say I am not a qualified weather person.  I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express a few times, so I am fully qualified per the commercials.  So back to my story.  So yesterday was not a nice weather day.  Here is me after completing the pic you see above.

IMG_20160517_102344185

Don’t let that smile fool you, it was heat stroke causing me to smile.  I am pretty sure I drank about two gallons of water and sweat our about 4 gallons of water.  The very top pic you see is my awesome 1994 Ford work truck I was allowed to drive after watching safety videos and taking a test.  Yes, that truck was made before most of you were even born.

So I set out to the browse garden and began constructing my 16 planter boxes.  It took about 3 hours baking in the sun with air humid enough to open the lid of your water bottle and spin around 3 times to fill it up.  Thankfully the boxes are assembled.  These boxes will provide the foundation of an interdepartmental program I am fostering between education, conservation, and nutrition. The idea is to have two campers come out each day for 3 days a week for 10 weeks.  These campers will plant one half of a planter box with a series of plants we wish to test.  The kids will also measure height, diameter, BRAX, and biomass of each plant.  The plants will be planted in a mixture of native soil and super animal poo compost from BG.

The goal is to see which of the 10 chosen species of plants grow the fastest, cheapest, and most sustainable.  We will then test them with the various animals to see if they like them.  We hope to show this is a more sustainable and cheaper way to feed the animals if they were to purchase 30 acres to grow their own browse.  This would cut down on the cost of trucking it in from South Florida.  It would also be healthier for the animals and cut down on CO2 emissions of the delivery trucks.  We also hope to impart this knowledge onto the students who will be assisting us.  This will further help my idea of education being directly tied to conservation.  The next step will be adding the soil and preparing the curriculum for the campers.

One comment

  1. usfpcgs · May 20, 2016

    Enjoyed the humor! Might want to get one of those BG spray fans!

    Like

Leave a Reply

