The start of the WELL Community


Hello everyone,

My internship is in Tampa working for Strategic Property Partners (SPP), the company that is in the process of developing a 40-acre WELL Community district. To start from the beginning, Jeff Vinik, the owner of the Tampa Bay Lightning acquired 40 acres of land around the arena in the Channel District and is now in the process of developing a district around the arena that will have office buildings, hotels, USF Health, restaurants and much much more! Additionally, SPP announced at the 2015 Clinton Global Initiative that it will  create the world’s first WELL Community Certified. For those of you that have never heard of WELL, to make it simple this new certification looks at the health and wellness of people that are interacting in and around buildings since we spend more than 90% of our time in them.

So my role is to assist with the first stages of the certification since as of right now the WELL Community does not exist and is being created by Delos (company that founded the International WELL Building Standard) as I am writing to you. As part of my internship and research I am going to compare the current LEED ND (Neighborhood Development) certification that certifies communities across the country with the new WELL Community certification. The WELL certification was designed to complement the LEED ND certification and I will therefore look into how well they complement and work together.

I officially started my internship last week and took a few days to meet the team, familiarize myself with the project and dove right into steps of certification. On my second day, the whole team was offered tickets to go to game 6 of the Lightning game (perks of working for the owner of the team!) For those of you following, we lost game 6 and ended up losing game 7 and ended our journey there, but it was great to be part of a playoff game.

thumb_IMG_7323_1024

On my third day, I was invited to a discussion panel after work hours organized by Tampa AIA about WELL and one of my coworker discussed the future WELL Community and the impacts on the environment, economy and health of people in Tampa. Few people were familiar with WELL but the room was packed and people were eager to lean about the new certification that will very certainly influence and impact the architecture world.

thumb_IMG_7327_1024

That’s about it for my first week. I am so grateful to be part of the SPP team for my internship and to help shape the future of Tampa. More coming next week.

 

Leave a Reply

