Perks of Interning…


IMG_20160610_122247250

SO…. I have to admit I was starting to get really down at the fact that I have been surrounded by animals and creating a program to feed them better and I had yet to really get any one on one time with any of them.  I mean let’s face it, a large part of me picked up this second internship because I am an avid animal lover.  I have been accused on many occasions of caring about animals more than humans… May or not be the case.

It was very hot out today and I sweat out about 5 gallons while I was working in the browse garden.  The campers are about to arrive tomorrow and I had about 50 things left on my list to complete.  I admit I may have threatened to go on strike yesterday if I didn’t get to see some animals.  It was made worse by the fact that the safari leaders were showing off pictures of the baby hyena and their visit with him.  This was more than I could take.  I mean come on… A BABY HYENA!! Who wouldn’t be jealous of that.  I have been angling for some behind the scenes time with the kangaroos for a while now because I have a slight obsession with them.  I am sure they fear I will attempt to take one home with me.

Well today was the day I finally won them over.  After all the hard work, I was finally able to go see an animal.  This is not just an ordinary animal.  This is a world famous animal ambassador who has met both Jay Leno and David Letterman ( for those of you born after 1995, they were the late night hosts back when comedy was funny).  I had the awesome pleasure of saying hi to him and spending some quality time feeding him and getting to know him.  I must say he is so gentle.  He is also very old for a sloth.  This means he is even slower than a normal sloth.  I call it Super Sloth speed.

So let me tell you a little bit about my new friend.  He enjoys hanging out (in his tree), sleeping, and eating healthy.  I fed him some papaya, carrots, mango, and some green beans.  He and I are alike in that we don’t really feel for green beans very often.  His hair is soft and at one point he held my hand.  He takes a while to eat because he has lost most of his teeth due to old age.  However, he is still awesome.  He likes to stare right into your eyes while you talk to him or feed him.  Pretty much the coolest thing I have done since getting there a month and a half ago.  I was assured when things with camp settle down that I can have some more encounters.  I am mostly done with setting up my program and hope the kids enjoy it.IMG_20160610_163334

Leave a Reply

