Blog 4: Attending the High Level Political Forum of the UN


The High Level Political Forum started on Monday, July 11th. From July 11th to the 22nd, the HLPF will be one of the main focuses of many UN members. The HLPF is the Forum that my internship has been building up to. These next two weeks I will be covering meetings, morning and afternoon. At the end of each week, I will produce a summary report that discusses the important topics and key findings of each week. So far, the main topics of the HLPF have included the main theme of “Ensuring no one is left behind”, poverty, food security, climate change, sustainable oceans, empowering women and girls, innovation, national policies, and other relevant topics. I have found the meetings to be really interesting and engaging. The topics are universal and it is easy to make the sustainability connections within all of the topics and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

IMG_6055

UN HLPF

IMG_6053

UN HLPF

This past week I had lunch with Mr. Sarbuland Khan from the UNWTO, who serves as my supervisor within the agency. We discussed my experience so far and what I hope to take from the internship. I also met with my external supervisor for this internship, Mr. Richard Jordan. I showed him the progress I have made on my internship final report and he gave me some suggestions on how to move forward. The due date is approaching so I have to really manage my time in attending meetings, writing reports, and writing my final report. I will be giving my internship final presentation on July 19th, discussing my research and experience at the UN. Dr. Randle from PCGS, Mr. Khan, and Mr. Jordan will be my audience during the presentation and they will provide feedback that I can apply for my paper. At this point, I only have 6 days left in my internship and 9 days in New York City until I head back home.

Leave a Reply

