“Someone Told Me it’s All Happening at the Zoo”


Yesterday was my first day at the zoo! Tampa’s Lowry Park Zoo has been my favorite zoo since the first time I visited, despite having grown up close to the famous Bronx Zoo. Something about Lowry Park Zoo is just different, and yesterday I was able to put a finger on it. It’s the people. We visit zoos to see the animals and maybe learn something new, but we rarely take into account the people that make the zoo what it is!

I met with Pam, who I will refer to as my boss, when I walked in yesterday morning. I got a very warm greeting and was introduced to the educator who would be giving us our behind-the-scenes tour that morning. I was a bit early and we got to chatting about how long he’d worked there, where he had worked before (Florida Aquarium’s summer camp– just like me! One year before!), and a little bit about the zoo. What stood out to me most, other than his abundance of knowledge about the animals, was how he knew every single person we passed on the tour and always greeted them with a warm hello. I’m not sure if anyone else has experience this before, where you walk into a place and instantly feel just…right, but that’s what happened yesterday.

After the tour we met back up with our boss (myself and three other interns) and went over our responsibilities as the Contemporary Marketing Team. We then met the other marketing and sales staff, who were all incredibly friendly and eager to have our help. One of the full-time veterinarians happened to be in the marketing office, and asked what I was studying. I mentioned my undergrad was in animal science and I’m currently working on my degree in sustainable tourism. He lit up and asked”at the Patel College at USF?” I — of course — replied, yes, and he mentioned wanting to connect to talk about working together on a project. Of course, again, I said yes! I can’t wait to see what we come up with! Finally, when we met some more of the staff, my boss had me mention what I was studying to these folks (because I’m the only non-marketing/advertising/communications intern), they too were eager to get together and talk. One woman went so far as to say they need to set up a meeting with me. I truly hope that we can all get together and chat about ideas for the zoo. I knew that this internship was going to be an interesting one, studying something I haven’t done before, but I didn’t realize how quickly I could make connections and put my sustainable tourism degree to use in different ways! Can’t wait to get back to it next week!

 

Leave a Reply

