Starting my journey


My story with environmental advocacy began the day I found out about the BP oil spill in 2010. I was a simply naive 18 year old Florida native that thought the Earth has infinite resources and that it was impossible for humans to have a tremendous impact through our activities. As I watched the aftermath of the BP oil spill, I had heard of people finding oil balls on beaches along the Panhandle. I was livid at the thought of the beauty of the ocean and beaches being ruined by an oil spill that occurred miles away.

Few months later, my friends and I traveled from Tallahassee to Destin to have fun at the beach. I was so excited about getting some time at the beach! When we arrived there and set up our things, we finally got to go into the ocean. As my friend and I were floating and talking, I had not noticed anything at first until I saw a dark ball go by. Puzzled, we went to go investigate it. My friend had picked it up and it reeked of oil. We immediately made the connection to the BP oil spill that had occurred a few months back. I was livid that the oil balls were still in the ocean and that the BP company was not making effort to clean up the mess thoroughly. From there, my life changed.

I started researching different topics regarding climate change from that point on, but was always overwhelmed by the complexity of perspectives and approaches, as well as problems. I would talk about it with friends when I attended Gallaudet University in Washington, DC. I also joined as a member to Sierra Club, Center for Biological Diversity, Oceana, and Green Gallaudet Club. I tried my best to get involved however I could with nonprofit organizations volunteering my time and efforts throughout college and after. But I always craved for more involvement. I felt I was not doing enough.

It was not until I went to Climate Reality conference in Miami, FL that I felt a calling. Spending time with empowered activists, business leaders, climate change experts and environmental educators inspired me to explore different paths that I could connect with. As I was watching my interpreter interpret Al Gore’s comment on the growth of green economy regarding solar jobs, renewable energy innovations, and job creations, that comment stuck to my mind for some reason I couldn’t identify at first. But at that point, I knew I had to learn more about what the green economy pillars is made up of.

“I tried my best to get involved however I could with nonprofit organizations volunteering my time and efforts throughout college. But I always craved for more involvement. I felt I was not doing enough.”

Afterwards, I went to a different conference hosted by the National Association for the Deaf that was focused on language acquisition, improving educational opportunities, and removing barriers to job opportunities. As I discussed with different people at the conference, I noticed a common barrier faced by deaf people which is that job opportunities and job training are not readily accessible for the deaf to take initiative on. At that point, I was able to make the connection of addressing a social issue experienced in my community and turning that into job opportunities that could also promote the growth of green economy in the United States. That connection led me to Patel College of Global Sustainability, thus I am here today to study Sustainable Entrepreneurship.

I am very excited to be here and share my journey with you all.

One comment

  1. Judy · February 28

    I am very excited to be able to follow your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

